EMC Scholarship

The scholarship program is now open for applications and will close on May 1, 2022.



Kamiyah Anglin
Prairie View A&M University

Caleb Eaton
Prairie View A&M University

Ryland Gray
University of North Texas

Kenydll Locke
University of North Texas

Brianna Mattis
University of Texas at Austin

Jewel McDonald
Texas A&M - Blinn @ College Station

Ebony Moss
Prairie View A&M University

Lauren Patterson
University of Texas at Austin

Aldorsey Prelow
Prairie View A&M University

Kadejah Taylor
University of Texas at Austin

Nicolas Upshaw
University of Houston



Kiera Anglin
McLennan Community College

Nadia Carney
Northwestern University - LA

Victor Clark II
Prairie View A&M University

Monique Clemons
Prairie View A&M University

Jamyah Hill
Prairie View A&M University

Jaleanna Jackson
McLennan Community College

Erica Johnson
Northern Kentucky College

Quincy Johnson
Texas Tech University

Jaden Matthews-Barnett
Prairie View A&M University

Zion Nolan
University of Texas - Dallas

Alyssabeth Pinkard
Sam Houston State University

Gilliana Sosa
University of Oklahoma

Imani Taylor
Texas A&M University - Commerce

Maya Williams
Texas Southern University


back to top

History of the Eugene McCray Scholarship

Several years ago, in an effort to help fulfill the association’s purpose, TABCCM established the Eugene McCray Scholarship in memory of one of TABCCM’s founding fathers, the late Fort Worth City Councilmember Eugene McCray. The Eugene McCray Scholarship Committee (EMSC), composed of TABCCM members, awards at least 12 scholarships totaling at least $25,000 annually to African-American high school graduates and/or college undergraduates. The scholarship may be used for tuition or fees and must be used by May of the following school year.

back to top

Application Requirements

The EMSC determines the recipients based upon the completed applications submitted. (Alternate recipients are named in the event the winner is unable to accept the funds.) To qualify, an applicant must:

  1. Applications may be submitted by mail and must be postmarked on or before May 1st.
  2. Applications may be submitted electronically and must be received on or before May 1st.
  3. Original school transcripts submitted must be signed and stamped/sealed by a school official.
  4. Applications must be complete to be scored.  

Additional, detailed requirements for current High School graduates and Post-Secondary applicants are located on the cover page of each application.

Applications are accepted from qualified students across the state and in 2021, through the support of our T. J. Patterson Annual Golf Tournament, we awarded a total of 25 scholarships totaling more than $28,000.

back to top

T.J. Patterson, Sr., Annual Golf Tournament

The T.J. Patterson, Sr., Annual Golf Tournament is the association’s largest fundraiser in support of this educational effort. 

If you are interested in receiving more information about TABCCM, the Eugene McCray Scholarship, and the upcoming T.J. Patterson, Sr., Annual Golf Tournament, please contact Lauren Grossman, TML Affiliate Services Coordinator, at laureng@tml.org.

back to top